Hadelich Plays Sibelius

Friday, January 19 at 8pm
Saturday, January 20 at 8pm
Sunday, January 21 at 2pm
Jacobs Music Center

Grammy® Award-winning soloist Augustin Hadelich performs Jean Sibelius’ Violin Concerto, with conductor Paolo Bortolameolli.

Artists and repertoire

Paolo Bortolameolli, conductor
Augustin Hadelich, violin

Miguel Farías: Estallido
Sibelius: Violin Concerto in D minor
Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 6 in B minor, “Pathétique”

Chilean conductor Paolo Bortolameolli opens this orchestral showcase with Chilean composer Miguel Farías’ brilliantly explosive Estallido. Jean Sibelius’ Violin Concerto presents an ambitious glimpse into the soul of a troubled composer. Grammy® Award-winning soloist Augustin Hadelich performs this intimate and demanding work. Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 6, “Pathétique”, completed just nine days before his death, punctuates the composer’s life with a soaring work filled with raw emotion, lush orchestration and graceful melodies.