Brahms and Mendelssohn

Saturday, May 18 at 8pm
Sunday, May 19 at 2pm
Jacobs Music Center

Violinist Daniel Lozakovich makes his San Diego Symphony debut performing the Mendelssohn Violin Concerto.

Artists and repertoire

Rafael Payare, conductor
Daniel Lozakovich, violin

Brahms: Tragic Overture
Mendelssohn: Violin Concerto in E minor
Brahms: Symphony No. 2 in D Major

Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto is a beloved showcase for soloistic lyricism and virtuosity, and will be the vehicle for Daniel Lozakovich in his San Diego Symphony debut. Rafael Payare leads soloist Daniel Lozakovich and the symphony in this dynamic program that opens with Brahms’ intense Tragic Overture and closes with the warmth and grandeur of his Symphony No. 2, the second in our cycle of Brahms’ symphonies.